Arizona nature scene

Director Report – Scholarship Awards

APMA Scholarship Foundation Awards $52,000 in Scholarships

The Arizona Petroleum Marketers Association is thrilled to announce that the APMA Scholarship Foundation (“the Foundation”) has made its 2017 scholarship awards to eleven students worth $52,000 if eligibility requirements are satisfied.

“That is significantly more than what some national petroleum associations are giving out in scholarship dollars,” said Foundation President Dave Alexander of Caljet. “We are pleased to be able to provide financial assistance to worthy students investing in their futures.”

Since its inception in 2007, the APMA Scholarship Foundation has paid out over $250,000 in scholarship awards.

The 2017 scholarship recipients included:

  • Abigail Austin, Denmart Convenience Stores
  • Martin DeWitt, Diamond Trucking
  • Rebecca Farias, Western Refining
  • Camille Johnson, DRPT and Bennett Oil
  • Andraya Lyons, Cochise Companies
  • Destiny Martinson, Cochise Companies
  • Savannah Miller, Senergy Petroleum
  • Briana Myers, Western Refining
  • Trevor Nelson, Bennett Oil
  • Blake Parker, Western Refining
  • Jenna Thrush, Circle K Stores

For the first time, top winners Ms. Farias and Mr. Nelson were named the Champlin Memorial Scholarship winners, in remembrance of Ann Champlin who passed away this spring.  Ann was the beloved wife of Bill Champlin, APMA’s Vice President Emeritus, retired from HollyFrontier Corporation.

Applicants participated in a rigorous application and interview process before being selected for awards varying from $2,000 per semester to $500 per semester.  To maintain their eligibility, awardees must sustain a 3.0 cumulative grade point average.